Michigan Biohazard Waste Regulations
Do not store medical waste on the premises of the producing facility for more than 90 days.
Healthcare facilities that generate medical waste must register with the state. There is a registration fee associated with the registration process. Upon receipt of a complete registration form and registration fee the state will issue a certificate of registration (valid for 3 years) to the healthcare facility
Michigans’s medical waste disposal regulations are managed by the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality Waste and Hazardous Materials Division. The complete detailed disposal requirements are outlined in Public Act and Rules Governing Disposal of Medical Waste . More information regarding the state requirements can be found on the Department of Environmental Quality website under the Medical Waste Regulatory Program Information page.
In addition to the state medical waste environmental regulations there are some Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) rules that apply to medical/infectious waste. Michigan is one of 24 states operating an approved occupational safety and health program. This program is operated by the Michigan Occupational Safety and Health. OSHA rules (Occupational Exposure to Bloodborne Pathogens Standards) impact various aspects of medical/infectious waste, including management of sharps, requirements for containers that hold or store medical/infectious waste, labeling of medical/infectious waste bags/containers, and employee training.